All the members of the Alliance Française de Pasadena are invited to join the national events organized by La Fédération Alliances Françaises USA. If you're not certain if your membership is still valid, please contact us: afdepasadena@gmail.com

To buy your membership, click here.

All the following events are reserved to our members only.

***

French influence in the American Civil War (in English)

Saturday, June 4, 2022
10am PST / 11am MST / 12pm CST / 1pm EST
Federation of Alliances Françaises, USA
In English

What presentation about the American Civil War could possibly deal with kings, skunks, sombreros, artistic masterpieces and a 151-foot woman?  A talk about French influence in the American Civil War with Brad Stone, of course!

French foreign policy and the actions of individual French nationals and French-Americans during the four years of the Civil War had a profound impact on almost every major aspect of the conduct of the War and American life during the War. The talk also highlights how French diplomatic policies during the American Civil War shaped much of the relationship between the two nations in the years that followed the War, and helped forge the strong lasting bonds between France and the United States that continue to this day.

Brad Stone, the presenter, enjoyed a long career with the U.S. government as a senior public affairs executive and currently volunteers as a docent at both the National Museum of Civil War Medicine in Frederick, MD and aboard the U.S.S. Constellation in Baltimore Harbor. He has presented on a variety of Civil War topics at several venues, including the Gettysburg Heritage Center in Gettysburg, PA; the Clara Barton Missing Soldiers Office Museum National Park in Washington, DC; the Antietam National Battlefield Park in Antietam, MD; and the U.S. Navy Museum at the Navy Yard in Washington, DC. Several of his talks have been nationally televised on C-SPAN3 American History TV.

This event will be on Zoom and is free for all Alliance Française members. Non-members or persons who have no AF chapter nearby can purchase tickets ($10). Please click here to register.

***

Saturday, June 11, 2022
11am PT / 12pm MT / 1pm CT / 2pm ET
Federation of Alliances Françaises USA
In English

Join us for a conversation with Claire Lerognon and Linda Phillips Ashour, co-authors of The Heart of an Artichoke: A Dialogue à Deux about French Language, Literature, and Life. This guidebook offers a spirited approach for those learning French, encouraging task-based methods and informal cultural exploration in the French language. More important than perfect grammar, Lerognon and Phillips Ashour argue, is communicative “savoir-faire” and intercultural “savoir-être”. The student’s real task is reimagining what language learning is all about.

According to a 19th-century French maxim: “Cœur d’artichaut, une feuille pour tout le monde”, (Heart of an artichoke, a leaf for everyone.) There’s something fresh for French fanatics to discover on every page. What to do with those old grammar books gathering dust on your shelves? Instead of memorizing rules, try communicating “for real” in a fan letter to a beloved Gallic actor. Turn on France Télévisions and study the intricacies of colloquial French rhythm to fine-tune the”chuis” and “chaipas”. What about (very) informal interactions? Explore a new register with Claire’s down and dirty glossary to street argot. And recall with Linda what got you hooked on French in the first place. “Reculer pour mieux sauter”. Sometimes taking a step back really is the way to leap forward.

Claire and Linda were brought together by a French book group that met for over a decade at the famed Carlyle hotel in New York City. Though the group no longer meets, they have continued their “dialogue à deux,” teacher to student and friend to friend, across the continent and through the years. Their collaboration offers a shared course in lifetime learning with concrete suggestions stretching from the library to the bookstore, from the movie theater to the home TV, from the office to the kitchen. What are the course requirements? A taste for some lighthearted education and a serious appetite for French.

This event will be on Zoom and is free for all Alliance Française members. Non-members or persons who have no AF chapter nearby can purchase tickets ($10). Please click here to register.

***

Thursday, July 7, 2022
4:00pm PT / 5:00pm MT / 6:00pm CT / 7:00pm ET 
Federation of Alliances Françaises USA
In English

Perhaps nothing epitomizes the cultural bond of France and the United States better than the joyous reception of jazz in Paris. Introduced by Black American soldiers and musicians during and following the First World War, jazz was embraced by the French and swept the country.

Paris—long the cradle of the avant-garde and where black Americans could live free of racial discrimination—provided a haven for the great American and French musicians who lived and worked there, including Josephine Baker, Sidney Bechet, Ada “Bricktop” Smith, Django Reinhardt, Stephane Grappelli, and Arthur Briggs. Jazz influenced composers like Ravel, and artists like Matisse. Duke Ellington triumphed there in 1933 and played in France more than any other foreign country in his 50-year career.

Co-creators of The Lafayette Escadrille documentary, filmmakers Darroch Greer and Paul Glenshaw, share great moments, characters, and incredible music from this century-long, ongoing love affair.

This event will be on Zoom and is in English and free for all Alliance Française members. Non-members or persons who have no AF chapter nearby can purchase tickets ($10). Click here to register.